Old School: Tetris Is A Great Game For The Waiting Room

A long time ago, I posted an article where I had described how Earthworm Jim helped me cope with my house having been robbed. It provided for me an escape for a difficult situation. A lot of people play video games because they provide an escape from the real world. Video games provide a more interesting fake world to get immersed in. I don’t play video games for this reason, but there have been moments when I have. So I thought I’d share another instance where this has happened.

When I was young, my mother had to have surgery. She was at risk of contracting Ovarian cancer and decided to have her uterus removed. I had never had something that serious happen in my life up to that point. No one in my family or among my friends had to have a serious operation or procedure done to them where the risk of death or serious life changing complications were possible. I was very concerned through the whole process and when she finally was at the hospital, I was a nervous wreck.

After they took her to the operating room, my other mother and I just sat in the waiting room. I didn’t know what to do. The anticipation, the uncertainty, the helplessness from just doing nothing but waiting. I guess I must have looked pretty stressed because a lady there asked if I wanted to play a game. I accepted and she handed me a Game Boy. The game inside was Tetris.

I don’t recall if I had played Tetris before or not, but it’s the most prominent memory I have because I would not stop playing it. It succeeded with flying colors in distracting me from my worries. I must’ve played that game for well over an hour, until they finally called us and told us the surgery was successful. I went and saw my mother and cried when I saw my mother weak and attached to several cords. She would recover of course but I still remember playing Tetris and how that helped me get through that.

Ever since then, I still get addicted to Tetris whenever I play it. I can’t just play a round or two; I have to play several times. Even though I’m not particularly great at the game, I still love playing it, and the main reason is how it helped me. Tetris is a very special game to me and it’s one of my favorite games ever. What video games are special to you because they helped you during a trying time? Let me know in the comments below. Thanks for reading. Peace and Love, gamers and players! Colorwind out.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

