Countdown: My New Years Resolutions 2017

2016 was a terrible year for many, myself included thanks to having something of a mental breakdown, resulting in me essentially sitting out most of the year. I’m fairly positive that I didn’t adhere to any of my resolutions from last year so this year is going to be an especially fresh start. I’ve got 12 resolutions this year (yeah, that’s a lot) but I’ve got a whole year to do them! These are my New Years Resolutions for 2017!

1. Get Healthy

Late last year, my doctor told me that I have fat going into my liver. It’s not a big deal so I’m not really concerned, but I’m not going to wait until it becomes a problem. So I’m going to get serious about losing weight by exercising and eating healthier. I currently weigh around 240 pounds. My goal is to lose 70 pounds so that would put me at 170. For the whole year, it seems doable.

2. Try New Foods

In order for me to eat healthier, I’m going to need to diversify my palette. Most of the food I like is unhealthy so I need to try other kinds of food. Eating the few healthy things I do like will get boring soon and will make it difficult for me to eat healthy. So this will be essential for me to keep to my diet.

3. Learn to Cook More

The one thing I did learn to do last year was cook. I can make chicken, spaghetti, pizza, and burgers. Except for chicken, none of the stuff I learned how to make is healthy. So I’ve got to learn how to make other, more healthier dishes. My first dish might be pork tenderloin, but we’ll see.

4. Find Non-Dairy Ice Cream

I know this one is at odds with my last three resolutions but I am lactose intolerant and I haven’t had ice cream without getting sick ever since I was young. So I just want to find non-dairy ice cream and try it. See if it’s a worthy replacement for the real thing. Maybe I can have ice cream on my birthday without getting sick for once.

5. Make Time for Friends

I’m seeing a therapist now and she feels like I’m not as close with my friends as I should be and I need to make more of an effort in my friendships. So I’m going to put aside time and money to hang out with friends and reconnect with them.

6. Go Out More

I need to get out of the house, out of my comfort zone, and  go out more, both with friends and on my own. I need to broaden my horizons, meet new people, and become more comfortable with social interactions. I’ve always been an introvert and I will always be an introvert. Being at home with my privacy will always be my default. However, I think I will benefit from going out a bit more.

7. Look for Someone Special

I have next to no experience with romantic relationships and that needs to change. I’ve always been way too shy to make a move and while I still might not make the first move, I will try dating sites and making myself more available to find that special someone.

8. Learn to Drive on Freeways

This one is a bit embarrassing. I’ve been driving for over 10 years but I’ve never driven on the freeway for a long distance by myself. A lot of it has to do with the fact that I don’t really have a lot of reasons to drive on the freeway. However, I do have a few friends who live far from me that I could see more often if I drove on the freeway. So I’ll make time (and put aside gas money) to learn to drive on the freeway.

9. See the Ocean

I live in California and I haven’t seen the ocean since I was a kid. I find this to be really sad. I think I’ll wait until the late spring or summer to try this one, but I need to go to the beach and just enjoy the atmosphere at least once. Possibly even more than once.

10. Pace Myself

This is a big one. I need to pace myself and focus on a couple of projects maximum a day. Focus on quality as oppose to quantity and put out stuff that’s well written, well produced, and well thought-out. Part of my issues is that I put too much on myself when there’s no need to. I’m going to work on not doing that.

11. #empathy and #truth movement

I’m going to be a lot more political than I’ve been in the past. Donald Trump being elected president as well as all the cop shootings, mass shootings, rampant bigotry, and fake news means that I’m going to make an effort online to spread more empathy and the value of truth. This will mostly be on Twitter so please follow me @Colorwind.

12. Fight

Along with my movements online, I’m going to look into going out and joining protests and other efforts to fight back against the incoming oppressive administration in both here in the United States as well as in other countries. I’ll write more about this in posts specifically about this stuff but I can’t remain complacent and sit idly by anymore.

There you have it. These are my resolutions of the year. I’m going to try and remember to come back to this post and check it so I can see how I did at the end of the year. So what are your resolutions for this year? Let me know in the comment section. Peace and Love, brothers and sisters! Colorwind out.

One thought on “Countdown: My New Years Resolutions 2017

  1. Sky I have read all the New Years Resolutions for 2017 that you are going to work on and it sounds great. I wish you all the best and I know you will accomplish your goals.

    Liked by 1 person

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

