My Gaming Landscape [February 9th, 2016]

It hasn’t been very long since my last Gaming Landscape but I’ve been playing a lot of new games so I’ve already accrued enough experiences to talk about. So here’s my Gaming Landscape as of February 9th, 2016: The Deadly Tower of Monsters, Gemini: Heroes Reborn, Mario & Luigi: Paper Jam, and Rayman Origins.

the-deadly-tower-of-monsters_022

The Deadly Tower of Monsters seemed like a fun little game. It’s essentially a top-down action game presented through the lens of a B-rated sci-fi movie from the 50s. You run around a fake looking alien planet while the director exposits on the action as part of a DVD commentary track. Fake models hanging from strings, actors in suits, cheesy and stilted dialogue, it’s all here. The game developers clearly had a love for this genre of movie and I can appreciate the authenticity to the source material in the presentation.

However, the gameplay is just dull to me. Weapons don’t have any real punch to them and aside from the Tesla gun, none of them were interesting or fun to use. The gimmick of being able to shoot below you at ledges and jumping off the titular tower isn’t implemented interestingly enough and comes across as a lost opportunity. As a result, the game gets old quick and since that’s all you do in this game aside from some bog standard upgrading, I only got around an hour in before I called it quits.

Gemini-Heroes-reborn-02

I gave Gemini: Heroes Reborn a shot, despite having only seen two episodes of the original TV show it’s based on. At first, I was bored and wasn’t enjoying myself. The game doesn’t give you something interesting to do until chapter four. The environments are bland, graphics are uninspired and the sound effects, dialogue, and music are all pretty bad. Also, the game ran pretty poorly on my PC and even at 720p, the game was frequently freezing hitching up. It even crashed on me once.

However, once you get your time travel and telekinetic abilities, the game becomes really enjoyable. Fighting mercenaries by throwing rocks, chairs, file cabinets, and more is really fun. You can even catch their bullets and fling them back at them. The time travel ability is mostly used for solving light environmental puzzles but you can use it to escape a fight to heal. There’s nothing really outstanding about the gameplay, but it was interesting enough to keep me playing till the end and I would recommend picking it up when it’s on sale. I’ll be writing a review of this game for Middle of Nowhere Gaming so keep an eye out for that if you want more of my thoughts.

ss9

I picked up Mario & Luigi: Paper Jam for review for Middle of Nowhere Gaming. I had played all of the Paper Mario games previously except for Sticker Star but I’ve only played the first Mario & Luigi game for a couple of hours. I had an idea of what I was getting into but I wasn’t expecting the game to be so long. If I were to describe the game with one word, it would be padded. It took me over 28 hours to play through it and it had overstayed its welcome way before that.

It’s unfortunate because the game at its core is really fun. The combat is engaging and diverse enough to keep your interest throughout all the random encounters, the plot has plenty of funny moments that keeps the progression charming, and most of the boss fights are fun and challenging later on in the game. Graphics are a mixed bag, as the paper characters look much better than their 3D counterparts. Overall, it’s alright but disappointing. Someone really needed to trim the fat this game has a bit. Be sure to read my upcoming review for Middle of Nowhere Gaming for more of my thoughts.

RO8

I want to play one game at a time from my backlog and the first game I chose was Rayman Origins. I bought a digital copy last year during a PS Store sale and only played it for a bit before putting it down. Now having finished the game, I’m glad I picked it up. This game is better than all of the Mario games released after Galaxy. The level design is creative and challenging, the controls are tight, and it aesthetically changes a lot to keep the locals fresh and new. Some levels even change setting mid-level ala Sonic The Hedgehog 3.

That said, I have three complaints. I found the glide ability to just be flat out unresponsive at times. Sometimes I would hold the jump button and nothing would happen. Also, the boss fights suck. All of them are different and there’s no time to acclimate yourself to what’s happening. All of the fights blind side you and are trial and error. Finally, the levels get really hard towards the end, resulting in the second to last level requiring pixel perfect platforming. That level is bullshit. Despite these complaints, it’s a really fun game and I really enjoyed it. Check out my upcoming Retrograde review for Middle of Nowhere Gaming for more of my thoughts.


Summing up the past week and a half, I also played Resident Evil Zero HD Remaster, Acceptance, Move or Die, and The Witness, as well as some random games I didn’t spend more than 20 minutes on. Some of these games I’ll talk about in the next Gaming Landscape and some I won’t. If you’d like to read my immediate impressions of games and see when my reviews are posted as well as other random opinions and brain farts I have, follow me on Twitter @Colorwind. That has been my Gaming Landscape, so tell me yours in the comments below. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

