Countdown: My New Years Resolutions 2016

A new year, a new chance to hit a metaphorical reset button and change yourself for the better. For the most part, 2015 for me was fairly uneventful but better than 2014. I managed to keep most of my New Year Resolutions from last year and now I have a relatively fresh new list of resolutions for this year. Here are my five New Years Resolutions for 2016.

1. Take A More Business Approach To Content

With my content here as well as on YouTube, Twitch, and Middle of Nowhere Gaming, I usually did whatever I felt like doing with no series regard with what is currently popular, trending, or in demand. My thinking was that my content would be compelling because I wanted to do it, that I was into what I was doing. I was authentic. That’s not necessarily going to change as if I wanted to rank in tons of views I would stream League of Legends matches, post Minecraft videos, post cat photos on Instagram, and write nothing but top 5 lists. However, I am going to focus on content that I enjoy making that also gets more hits. I’m going to try new things and see what works and what doesn’t. See what people like to read / watch from me and what they don’t. You’ll see this change most prominently in my YouTube videos, which are getting a major bump in production.

2. Less But Higher Quality Content

Since I want to try out different things and see what works and what doesn’t as well as deliver content that my readers and viewers want, I’m going to spend more time posting things that are of higher quality as well as different from what I’ve done. As a result, I’m going to take my time with individual projects, meaning that you won’t see as many posts here as you did before. Right now, my plan is to post something three times a week. That includes all of my endeavors. Written posts, videos, streams, and content for Middle of Nowhere Gaming, though they will all be linked here on WordPress in some way. Good things take time and I’m going to adhere to that.

3. Learn To Eat Healthier / Cook

The last three months of last year, I went on a diet in solidarity to my mother who needed to restrict how she ate due to a health scare. We did it successfully and she is now fine. However, in the process, I learned to really enjoy eating lean pork, salad, and other healthy foods. I would like to continue that as well as learn how to make these foods. I don’t know how to cook at all. The best I can do is typically stick frozen stuff in microwaves or ovens or fry French Fries in cooking oil. I’m going to try to learn how to cook and not just unhealthy items like burgers or spaghetti but healthy stuff like pork tenderloin and chicken breast.

4. Go Out More

This is something I’ve always needed to do but I’m going to really try this year to do this. I need to leave my freaking house more. I’m an introvert and a proud one at that. I don’t expect to all of a sudden become someone who enjoys going out at night every weekend or even recreationally go out for the sake of it. However, I need to socialize more if not because I need to meet new people, then to expand my horizons. As an artist, I need to see what else the world has to offer. Sure, the internet offers ways to see that in ways people can’t from just going outside, but there’s some things you can’t experience online as well. I need to go out and human more often.

5. Put Myself Out Of My Comfort Zone / Take More Risks

This is one I’ve had as a resolution before. However, it’s a bit more expanded this time around as I failed to do this before and I’m hoping a bit more direction will help me achieve this. I don’t take chances. I’ve never been that guy to throw caution to the wind and do something without knowing what will happen beforehand. If I’m unsure about something, I don’t do it. Doesn’t matter how much I want to do it. I got to stop doing that. Along with my previous resolution, this is my attempt to get out of my situation and experience things I don’t know as oppose to what I do. I need to go somewhere I’m not familiar with or talk to people I typically wouldn’t. Try food I normally wouldn’t, watch shows I typically ignore. Talk on forums I usually don’t, stick my neck out more for job positions, maybe even make an online dating profile. Even the thought of that last one makes me anxious.


There you have it! My New Years Resolutions for 2016. Hopefully these will go as well as last year’s did. So what are your New Years resolutions? Tell me in the comment section and if you got any, throw some tips for my resolutions in there as well. Peace and Love, brothers and sisters! Colorwind out.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

