My Gaming Landscape [October 21st, 2015]

Hey everybody! Colorwind here and I’ve been playing several different games this past month, including Contradiction, Ty the Tasmanian Tiger 4, Transformers Devastation, Metroid Prime, Final Fantasy VII, Super Mario 3D Land, Batman: Arkham Asylum, and Mirror’s Edge.

I played Ty the Tasmanian Tiger 4 for review for Middle of Nowhere Gaming. Ty 4 is a fairly basic 2D platformer but is objective based and has more open ended levels. I found the game was best played in spurts, which makes me think that it would’ve been better on a mobile platform, like the Vita or 3DS, rather than PC. If you’re a fan of the Ty series, you’ll probably like the fourth game. I personally think that series is pretty average but competent and the fourth game continues that. I do know that if the fourth game does well, developer Krome Studios will make an HD collection of the other Ty games.

maxresdefault (1)

Contradiction was another game I played for review for Middle of Nowhere Gaming and I enjoyed this game more than Ty 4. The game is a point-and-click detective adventure game that’s entirely FMV. You want to question people and then find contradictions in the things they say as well as search some areas for clues. The acting is cheesy but well done and seeing the story unfold is very enjoyable. The premise of the plot is fairly serious, but the story itself is fairly comical. It’s like the developers didn’t take things too seriously. It’s really enjoyable and it only costs $10. It’s only seven hours or so but I think it’s worth it.

I originally was going to play Transformers Devastation for review for Middle of Nowhere Gaming but I ended up reviewing Contradiction instead. However, I had the game so I played it on my Twitch channel to completion. I plan to write a review for the game for my WordPress site so I won’t go into details but I will say that as someone who doesn’t know anything about Transformers, I really enjoyed that game. I don’t know anyone’s name except for Optimus Prime, Bumblebee, and Megatron, and I didn’t really know what was going on in the story but I was still able to have a blast. Check it out, even if you’re not a Transformers fan!

Transformers-Devastation-Video-Game-Optimus-Prime

I started my 100% playthrough of Final Fantasy VII after having beaten it for the first time last month. However, I haven’t touched it in two weeks simply because I haven’t had time. I left off in Junon Harbor and I’m hoping to get back into it. I gave up playing Metal Gear Solid 3 simply because I wasn’t enjoying or understanding it and when I talked about it on social media, I was bombarded by MGS fans who couldn’t stand something negative being said about their precious series. Seriously, you guys sucks.

So I went with a game I’ve played many times before, Batman: Arkham Asylum. I’ve never played the PS3 version, which I got via PS Plus, and decided to platinum it, which I did. I even did the challenge maps, which I’ve typically ignored since I just enjoyed the campaign on its own. I love this game so much and I’m going to give it a proper review but I’ve been having difficulty finding the words. But stay tuned, I’ll find them.

batman5

After getting the Batman: Arkham Asylum platinum, I started playing Metroid Prime via the Metroid Prime Trilogy I bought off the Wii U eShop, but again I haven’t had time to get into it. I like the Wii controls more than the original GameCube controls (which is really weird for me) but I wish I could just play it with normal controls, like with a Wii U Pro Controller. You know, movement and strafing on the left stick, and aim with right stick. The face buttons can be the same as the GameCube set up, ZL lock on, and ZR manual aim. The d-pad can be the different visors, and the L and R shoulder buttons could be used to switch weapons. It’s not that hard!

On my YouTube channel, I’ve been playing Mirror’s Edge, which has been really hit and miss with me. I’m digging the look and feel of the game, and gameplay feels much better on the keyboard and mouse instead or a gamepad. However, the visual language is terrible. I know you’re supposed to look for colors to know where to go, but they’re everywhere! It’s not just the color red that’s the answer and as a result, I’m almost always in the dark. I NEVER know where I’m going and the game is very trial and error as a result. The game is very stylized and I like Faith as a character but right now, the gameplay is really losing me.

maxresdefault (2)

I’m also playing Batman: Arkham Asylum for my channel because I never finished my playthrough there. I’m trying to actually finish playthroughs I start on my channel. Imagine that. Finally, I’ve been playing Super Mario 3D Land on my 3DS because it’s really good for needing something to do for five minutes. I’ve already beaten the game like normal and gone through the special world but I’ve never played as Luigi. As a result, I’ve now gone through the normal world as Luigi and gotten all of the golden flags. Ignoring that this game is padded like crazy for completionists, it’s enjoyable in spurts.

That is all I’ve played this past month. Now what about you? What games have you been playing? Stuff more current, I’m sure. That’s what happens when you’re broke and can’t afford new consoles. You play what you can on your PC and whatever it can run. Regardless, tell me in the comments what you’ve been playing. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

