Rediscovering Fighting Games

Recently, I’ve noticed that I’ve been replaying fighting games that I wasn’t originally big on and finding new characters that I like to play as, thereby making the game feel fresh to me. The first game was Tekken Tag Tournament. I got the HD version not too long ago and was disappointed that everything was unlocked from the start for me. What else is there to do when there’s no online mode? However, at random, I picked Kunimitsu and started really enjoying the game as I learned her move set and found it to my liking. I kept playing through Arcade mode over and over just because I enjoyed playing as Kunimitsu and I wanted to play more as her and get better with her fighting style.

Recently, I’ve been wanting to play a Mortal Kombat game since Mortal Kombat X just came out but I don’t have any way to play it. So I’ve been playing Mortal Kombat 3, a game that, again, I wasn’t hugely into back in the day but have found renewed interest in thanks to finding a new character I really liked that I didn’t play before. This time, it was Cyrax and I’ve been getting better and better with him. The other night I beat the game three times with relative ease! I’ve even learn a couple of exploits that lets me beat Motaro and Shao Kahn without dying…much. When I do it right, I beat them no problem but sometimes I screw up so that’s why I keep dying and why I need to practice.

I just thought I would blog about this occurrence because it just goes to show that if a game is really good, it doesn’t matter how old it is. There’s a chance that you can still find something new in it that’ll make it brand new all over again. Do you have any games that you have played before that you found something new about it to like after you revisit it? Tell me in the comments. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

