My Gaming Landscape [April 21st, 2015]

MGL

Two weeks and another Gaming Landscape! I’ve had one of those periods where I keep playing different games and not sticking to one. So this is going to be a long one. There’s a few I’m not going to talk about, such as Mega Man X4, which I wrote a review for at MONG, and Super Metroid, which I plan on writing a review for here. Also, I did a few videos on Haunting Starring Polterguy, and a live stream on Sonic Adventure DX. That footage has been deleted since the audio is garbage. On that note, I’m not going to make videos for awhile because I need a new microphone. Alright! That’s enough clean-up and set-up! Let’s get into it.

Ori_and_the_Blind_Forest_ScreenshotOri and the Blind Forest

I played some more Ori and I got frustrated when I kept dying. I reached the area where you can propel yourself off of projectiles and realized that it’s not a well thought out ability. That’s where I just gave up. I don’t like Ori and the main reason is that there’s just better examples of games like this. The jumping is floaty, the enemy design is uninspired, and a lot of the world is blocked off. However,  the biggest issue with Ori is how easily you can die. Games like Super Metroid and Castlevania: Symphony of the Night give you a lot of health, even early on, so that you can make mistakes. This allows you to explore without being severely punished. Ori has enemies that can kill you in one or two hits and instant death traps. I never wanted to explore because it wasn’t worth it. I know you can make your own checkpoints but with the amount of times you die, making a bunch of these things becomes tedious and gets you frustrated when you forget to make one. I get that it’s a beautiful game but in my opinion, the gameplay is severely flawed.

395983-dragon-age-origins-windows-screenshot-the-dalishelf-originstoryDragon Age: Origins

I got it in my head to play an RPG that I never had played and so I loaded up Dragon Age: Origins on my PC. I played up until my mission to be included in the Grey Wardens and gave up. I don’t like this game and I know exactly why. There’s small issues like the graphics look really bland looking to me and the story was not grabbing me up to that point. However, the big issue is this game controls like an MMO. Why does this game need to be controlled like that? I get that you need to command all your party members but having my party attack on their own like this makes me feel even less in control. For the three hours I played I was so bored, either by the story or by the combat. So I feel good just walking away. I talked to my buddy about the game and he thinks I might like the second game more. Maybe I’ll give that a shot.

DEAD-OR-ALIVE-5-Last-Round_20150119144622Dead or Alive 5: Last Round

Not too much to say here other than I finished story mode and the plot, unsurprisingly, makes no sense. This game is still kind of fun to me but I’m not interested in unlocking all the costumes and system voices. Once again, there’s no online mode on the PC yet so at this point, it’s just playing against the computer over and over again. The mechanics aren’t as good as a Mortal Kombat or Street Fighter so it’s not interesting to play it over and over again. So I think I’m done with this game now.

8a3a8a2042c94c88f0e455bab99fc75eSuper Meat Boy

I watched Indie Game: The Movie, which you can read my thoughts about on my latest Cinema Landscape, and that inspired me to play Super Meat Boy. I can honestly say that this isn’t really my kind of game, in which you constantly die and levels are small, trap filled courses that are designed for speed runs. I know that sounds strange coming from a Sonic fan but those levels are platforming stages where speed is an optional reward if you’re good enough. Here, in Super Meat Boy, it’s essential. You either beat the stage pretty fast or you die. There’s almost no middle ground. That being said, despite this game frustrating the hell out of me, I do enjoy it. I get the appeal of the frantic jumping and running. The physics of the game are strange to me but you get used to them and they make sense for the game. I have to play it in chunks less I become too frustrated with it but it’s fun. I don’t know if I’m going to come back to it because I’m stuck on a level in Hell but I’ve enjoyed my time with it.

apotos11Sonic Unleashed

I bought this during the PlayStation Store Flash Sale this past weekend. I’m a big Sonic fan and I hadn’t played this game before. The game was released during my five year ban on Sonic games that I implemented on myself after playing Sonic 06 and ended with Sonic Colors. I heard about the Werehog stuff, which didn’t sound good, but I also heard about how the normal levels were like Sonic Colors so I was hoping for an okay game overall. I was letdown. The normal Sonic levels are fun, at least the one I played was. However, the Werehog levels are AWFUL, the hub world stuff is irritating and strongly resemble Sonic 06’s hub world design, and Tails’ Tornado levels piss me off. I get on the Tornado and I think, oh okay, this is going to be like Sonic Adventure. But no, OH NO! I can’t control the plane or shoot at my leisure. I’ve got wait for button prompts. The whole section is basically a quick time event. Why would you do this? It worked fine before. Just send some baddies my way and let me blow them up! So even though the one normal Sonic stage I played was fun, the hub world frustrated me, the Werehog stages bored me, and the Tails Tornado stage pissed me off. I know I’ll eventually play through this game simply because it’s Sonic but that time is not now.

72bzon2Rayman Origins

Another game I bought during the PlayStation Store Flash Sale. This game is a lot better. I kind of already knew that since I had played the demo first. However, now I actually own the game and I really like it. The only thing is I don’t have a lot to say about it. It’s just a platformer with well done, crisp and expressive cartoon graphics and tight and responsive controls. Levels are broken up into sections and the level design is visually creative as well as well design. I’ve already finished the first world and I’m moving on the the next. That’s about it. It’s just a solid game.

AC-IV-Comparison-6-2Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag

This is probably now my main game I’m playing. I had a hell of a time getting this game installed since my Xbox 360’s hard drive is filled up and there was a problem where even though I cleared enough space, Once I got it working though, I’ve found myself surprisingly having a decent time with this game. My opinion of the Assassin’s Creed series is that there’s too many of them and none of them are anything stellar. I’ve played through the first two games and played some of Brotherhood. I didn’t think any of them were great but were okay due to me just liking to jump around due to my love of the Prince of Persia series. This one I’m actually enjoying more thanks to the improved combat compared to the first three as well as more interesting objectives overall. I’ve only just gotten my boat and so far I think the boat mechanics are cool but not overwhelmingly fun. I liked running around Havana and the freedom that it gave since the guards weren’t too powerful. I have died a couple of times but only when I was overrun by guards and marksmen. I enjoy the story so far too though I don’t know what’s going on. I think it’s because Edward Kenway is the first Assassin’s Creed protagonist I don’t find to be boring. I know everyone likes Ezio but he always felt dull to me. Maybe people just liked his accent. Anyways, this will probably be the game I focus on. I do wish I had an Xbox One or PlayStation 4 or a better PC so the graphics would be better as well as the frame rate. Oh and the real life sequences? Ubisoft is now in their own game? What!?

hqdefaultMortal Kombat 3 / Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 / Mortal Kombat Trilogy

Ever since Mortal Kombat X came out, I’ve been itching to play some Mortal Kombat. I loaded up Mortal Kombat 3 on MAME and, at random, decided to pick Cyrax. I hadn’t played with him much aside from learning his special moves and even then, I’ve since forgotten all of them except his net. However, I kept playing and started learning combos and experimenting with the bombs and now I really like this character. What’s more is I’m getting my Mortal Kombat fix. So I just started loading up other versions of the game on MAME, then the Super Nintendo emulator, then my Sega Genesis emulator, then my PlayStation emulator and finally my Sega Saturn emulator. It’s so interesting to see the differences between various versions of the same game. They’re all fun too. I think I’ll keep experimenting with Mortal Kombat 3 and it’s various versions for now. Maybe try out other characters too. However, for the time being, Cyrax is my new main in MK3.


And that’s the end of my extra long Gaming Landscape. I play too many games. Now why don’t you tell me what you’ve been playing? Let me know in the comment section and if you’ve been playing Mortal Kombat X, I’m jealous of you. If you are so inclined, follow me on Twitter, where I spout not only random thoughts and pictures of my dog DD, but also updates on blog posts and other projects. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

One thought on “My Gaming Landscape [April 21st, 2015]

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

