My Cinema Landscape [April 16th, 2015]

MCL

It has been a while since I’ve done one of these! I have four movies to talk about this time so lets get into it.

Frozen

I’ve never seen Frozen up until recently and I really liked it. I like how the movie mocks a lot of the conventions Disney movies tend to have, particularly in regards to princesses. However, at the same time, the movie’s whole catch isn’t just that it’s poking fun at movie conventions. It has a plot of its own, it has two strong female leads, and the men aren’t shafted in the process. This being said, I don’t understand the amount of attention this movie gets. This is a great movie but it’s not without its flaws and it’s certainly not one of Disney’s best. There’s three issues I have with the movie, one of which will be controversial. First off, I feel like the movie doesn’t properly explain why Elsa’s powers are to be feared. If anything, the movie establishes why they’re awesome. Therefore, when she’s shunned for them, it doesn’t really make sense. Secondly and controversially, I don’t like the songs. All the songs are annoying to me. The only thing I like is the lyric “The cold never bothered me anyway” in Let It Go. This lyric tells kids that it’s okay to not be like everyone else and to embrace it. It’s powerful and it justifies the entire song, even in it’s bombastic cheesiness. Finally, the villain. Why is there even a villain in this movie? From the time we are aware that there’s even a villain in this movie to when they are captured is 15 minutes. Completely unnecessary. You could have actually taken out that aspect of the movie and would have lost nothing. There was already enough stakes and tension in the movie. These aspects of the movie keep it from being a classic to me but I did still really like this movie.

Don’t Be A Menace To South Central While Drinking Your Juice In The Hood

My buddy came over this past weekend and we watched Don’t Be a Menace to South Central While Drinking Your Juice in the Hood on Netflix. I’ll be referring to this movie as Don’t Be a Menace from now on. He wanted me to give my opinion so here we go. I THINK. THIS MOVIE. IS! (pause for dramatic effect) okay. Honestly, I don’t have a lot to say about this movie. It stars the Wayans brothers, whom I enjoy just fine. I like the first two Scary Movies. This movie has a lot of the humor from those movies but less polished. A lot of the jokes I found enjoyable but not laugh out loud funny. There are funny moments but they are few and far between. However, there’s nothing about the movie that I would call bad. There are very few jokes that just don’t work. They’re just not very funny. I don’t know, I feel like this is the kind of movie that I would mind have playing in the background. So final opinion is it’s okay.

Indie Game: The Movie

I’ve never seen this movie, despite having heard so much about it, so I played it on Netflix and I loved it. I watched Video Games: The Movie earlier this year and didn’t really care for that as it felt like a Wikipedia entry. However, this movie is an in depth look at the lives of several indie developers, specifically Team Meat and Phil Fish. There’s also some footage of Jonathan Blow, who created one of my favorite games ever Braid. That’s actually my only complaint with the movie: I wish there was more on Jonathan Blow. However, I understand that by the time the movie was recorded, Braid was already released. First off, Phil Fish. I know he’s a controversial figure and I’m of the opinion that he brings a lot of the hate he gets onto himself. However, I was able to empathize with him from watching this movie. I felt his struggle and while I feel he’s prone to hyperbole, I understand that your head can get to that point after working on something for so long with little to no help. However, I really was drawn to Edmund McMillian and Tommy Refenes aka Team Meat. I really felt for McMillian’s drive to succeed and Refenes decent into depression. I really enjoyed it at the end when their game winds up doing well and the moment where Refenes starts watching videos on YouTube of people playing his game and he smiles for what seems like the first time since the beginning of the movie. I started playing Super Meat Boy after watching this movie. I recommend everyone check this movie out. It’s on Netflix so give it a watch.

The Many Adventures of Winnie The Pooh

I watched this on Netflix after Indie Game: The Movie as a palette cleanser. This is not a great movie by any means but damn it, if it isn’t just adorable. I like the book framing structure, the misspellings, and all these characters essentially just existing. It’s not a good story but it’s a cute look at a young boy’s imagination. The last part of the movie is really touching though, as Christopher Robin talks to Winnie the Pooh about him going to school and asking to always be there for him. Winnie the Pooh is essentially Christopher’s innocence and childhood and he knows that he’s now taking his first steps into the real world and out of his make believe world. It’s something we’ve all had to deal with and it’s a sweet scene that is the bow on a cute movie.

And that’s all the movies I’ve seen recently. I’m going to try to do this a bit more often but I suppose I’ll need to watch more movies! What are some movies that you have seen recently? Let me know in the comments. Peace and Love, Cinephiles! Colorwind out.

One thought on “My Cinema Landscape [April 16th, 2015]

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

