Discussing: Does Gaming Influence Musical Tastes?

Aside from gaming, I’m very passionate about music. I love a variety of music, from AC/DC to Bruno Mars. I like most if not all genres and I’ll give almost anything a shot. However, I do have my preferences. I tend to like rock more than electronic music. So I’ll take AFI over Lady Gaga any day. However, I’m also aware that this puts me at odds with most music in video games. I noticed this pretty early on. When I was seven or eight years old, I was listening to my parent’s records of Elton John and Rod Stewart and then playing Super Mario World or Street Fighter II with a soundtrack that was consisting of bleeps and bloops.

I enjoyed the music in this game, despite it not reflecting my tastes at the time. I remember a lot of the music in those games and they are memorable to a lot of gamers. However, that’s not music that I really gravitate to. I do know others who do though. There are a lot of people who listen to video game soundtracks outside of gaming because they enjoy the music that much. They’ll buy the soundtrack or download it online somewhere and listen to it while relaxing or working or doing something else, just like any other form of music.

Personally, I rarely do this though I am drawn to music in certain series, such as Sonic the Hedgehog and Mega Man. Ironically, a lot of the music in those games, at least back in the 90s, was influenced by rock music, as that was the composers’ genre of choice. What’s more is I have found myself liking more electronic music as I hear music in video games. Now a majority of it is not from recent big releases as most of those games have symphonic soundtracks since they want to be more like movies but there’s plenty of games now that have great soundtracks, such as Transistor.

So I guess the question I have to ask you, dear reader, is do you enjoy the music in gaming enough to listen to it outside of the game? How do you compare other forms of music to video game music? I’ll make a note that songs that are licensed to be in a game, such as Guitar Hero or Grand Theft Auto, don’t really count. Let me know your answer in the comments section and while you’re at it, let me know some of the music you like to listen to that’s not gaming related and how gaming has influenced that preference, if at all. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

One thought on “Discussing: Does Gaming Influence Musical Tastes?

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

