Countdown: Top 5 Most Anticipated Games of 2015

Countdown Top 5 Anticipated Games

2015 is off to a pretty decent start. I haven’t been able to play every major new release but I’ve played a few smaller games here and there. One of my more anticipated games has actually already come out, Ori and The Blind Forest. Check out the next Gaming Landscape for my final thoughts on that game. However, with the first quarter of the year now behind us and a better idea of what the rest of the year is going to entail, I thought I’d give my top five anticipated games of 2015. These are my own picks, of course, so if you’re most anticipated game isn’t on this list, that’s probably because you aren’t me. With that said, lets talk about some (hopefully) cool games!

Mortal Kombat X

This game makes me hate that I don’t have a PlayStation 4 or Xbox One or a PC that can run this game. Everything that this game has shown off looks amazing. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen a game that just looks right with everything it does. The combat, the different variations of characters, the character designs, the fatalities, the darker vibe, the stage designs, the marketing, the lineup, everything! I might pick up this game when it comes to 360 and PS3 but I’m worried that they’ll be noticeably lesser versions of the current gen and PC versions. I’m a big fighting game fan and this is pushing all the right buttons for me. I mean, Johnny Cage does a Shining reference in one of his fatalities for crying out loud!

Mighty No.9

I thought this was a cool idea when it was on Kickstarter and I was glad that it was happening but I wasn’t super excited for it at first. Then I saw footage of the game being played and that changed. I’m a big fan of the Mega Man X series and the game looks to be paced more like those games rather than the original series. No offense to those games but they were slower than the X series and I prefer that more. I dig the absorption aspect to defeating enemies as it’ll change how you handle enemies in the game. Some of the stages look underdeveloped from what I saw but I’m sure that’ll be changed in the final game. I’ve wanted a legit good Mega Man game for awhile and this looks like it’s going to be it.

Splatoon

I don’t really care for shooting games. So this next one is a surprise even to me. I don’t know what it is but Splatoon looks like a lot of fun to me. Maybe it’s the territory capturing focus, or the squid mode to travel quicker across the battlefield. Maybe it’s the lack of focus on killing each other or the story mode where the bad guys are octopuses. I’m not sure but I’m hoping that Nintendo actually pulls this off and makes a fun game that’s not hampered by the Wii U Gamepad or Nintendo’s need to regulate things. I guess we’ll see when the game comes out but I’m hopeful in the meantime.

Yoshi’s Wooly World

This game barely made the list. You see, Yoshi’s Island on the SNES is one of my favorite games on the system but Nintendo has never been able to make another game in the Yoshi franchise that good. They haven’t even gotten close. Yoshi’s Story on the N64 was disappointing and Yoshi’s New Island was bad. However, this game looks very inventive and colorful and, most importantly, fun. I like how shooting eggs will wrap enemies in yarn rather than knock them out. This shows how the game’s aesthetics actually influence mechanics in the game. I really just want another great Yoshi game and after 20 years of being letdown, I’m cautiously hopeful that this will be it.

Batman: Arkham Knight

I love the Batman Arkham series. Arkham Asylum is one of my favorite games of the last generation and I played through Arkham City in one day. I’ve been anticipating this game for so long and I know this is going to be the game that makes me buy a PS4 or X1. Gotham looks incredible and I just can’t wait to glide (and drive) around, looking for riddler trophies or random thugs to beat up in the shadows of these massive buildings and landmarks. I also want to know for sure who the Arkham Knight is. Some say it’s Scarecrow and if so, I’d be totally okay with that as he’s one of my favorite Batman villains. I actually don’t know too much about the game because I’m trying to keep myself in the dark so when I do play it, it’s all new to me. Can’t wait, must own NOW!

There you go. That’s my list. Now what’s yours? Do we have any games in common? Tell me in the comments. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

One thought on “Countdown: Top 5 Most Anticipated Games of 2015

  1. I’m really excited for Splatoon. I’m also looking forward to Batman and Yoshi. I don’t have the highest expectations for Woolly World because as you mentioned the titles since the original YI haven’t been too hot, but we shall see. It seems like a lot of the games I’m most excited for are being delayed until 2016, so I don’t even know what I’m most looking forward to this year anymore.

    Like

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

