My Gaming Landscape [April 3rd, 2015]

MGL

I know I just did a Gaming Landscape but as it turns out, I’ve been playing a few games that I have a lot to say about. So lets not waste any time and talk about the myriad of titles that I’ve been bouncing between this week.

Tekken Tag Tournament HD

One of the games I got for my birthday was Tekken Hybrid. The main game in this weird collection is an HD remaster of Tekken Tag Tournament, originally on the PlayStation 2. I decide that I’m going to make this the next game I focus on because it’ll be easy and won’t take too long. However, it turns out I don’t have to. Everything in that game is unlocked from the get go, which means I don’t have a real incentive to play it unless someone comes over and wants to play. This scenario is unlikely since I have Tekken Tag Tournament 2 already. It’s the Wii U version but still. I remember SoulCalibur HD on the Xbox 360 did this too. Why is Namco Bandai doing this? I can understand maybe unlocking the characters so everyone can play whoever they want instantly but all the ending movies and modes? So I thought I wouldn’t be playing this much and it wouldn’t be the main game I play right now.  However, I’ve noticed that I keep wanting to play it so I just keep going through Arcade mode over and over. I’ve actually started really liking to play as Kunimitsu. There’s something about her moveset that really appeals to me. So even though it’s not my main game that I’m playing right now, I’m actually enjoying it a lot.

Super Mario 64

My buddy Don came over one weekend and, inspired by the Game Grumps’ recent Super Mario 64 playthrough, I loaded up Super Mario 64 on my Wii U via the Wii mode. For whatever reason, I always end up playing that game once a year. Sometimes I finish it, sometimes I don’t. Very rarely do I finish it in one sitting but that’s what I did. Now I didn’t get all 120 stars and I wasn’t trying a speed run or anything but I did manage to get 70 stars and beat Bowser in a little over three hours. It was fun and that game is still great. I would’ve loved to try that new HD fan game that was made of the first level but of course, Nintendo took it down. Turns out that was because they just announced that Super Mario 64 is now on Wii U as the first N64 game available on the Wii U. So I bought it for $2 and I’m played through it again, this time at 100%. I’m enjoyed it even more since I find the Wii U Pro Controller more comfortable than the Wii’s Classic Controller.

Resistance: Fall of Man

I started playing Resistance: Fall of Man last weekend because I thought that could be my main game I focus on. I played the first 10 levels of that game. That game is pretty easy. However, I’m not invested in the story or the characters or even that gameplay really. However, I’m enjoying it as I kind of like just running through the game and blasting aliens away. So it’s gratifying to just treat it as mindless violence. The story is nothing to write home about anyways. I’m a soldier who gets infected but I haven’t turned or whatever, then I’m captured but I escape, and now I’m fighting like normal. Meh. The guns aren’t that interesting either. I can shoot around a corner with one gun but it’s not that accurate. The other two games are just standard machine gun and shotguns. It’s kind of fun but it’s also pretty mindless and rudimentary. I think I’ll finish it and then just be done with it.

Ori and the Blind Forest

I made of video of me playing this game for the first time for 20 minutes or so. I’ve played a bit more since that video and while I’m liking it, it’s not really grabbing me. I like the Metroidvania style of the game and I like exploring. However, I don’t like the combat. Ori feels too vulnerable and having something else attack in your stead has too much of a disconnect between the character and the combat. The game is beautiful though and the production quality is stunning. The opening is very sad, but there’s sort of a weird switch in tone between the intro and when you start the game in earnest. It’s jarring. I’ll keep playing it when I feel like it but I wouldn’t be surprised if I wind up putting this game on the back burner.

Dead or Alive 5: Last Round

I streamed this game on Twitch but I’m still learning how to stream so my footage had no sound even though I tested it for a half an hour before. Goddamn Twitch, OBS, and everything streaming! Anyways, I thought I’d talk a bit about that game here since I don’t have a video to show for it. I am not a fan of the Dead or Alive series. I don’t care about the boob jiggle, I don’t like the pressure sensitive buttons, the counter system is too easy to the point that the game is nothing but counters, and the pressure sensitive buttons and counter system combines makes that game essentially boil down to luck and SHUT UP FANS OF THIS SERIES YOU WILL NOT CONVINCE ME OTHERWISE! That said, I actually really liked this game. They took out the pressure sensitive buttons and countering is harder. It actually makes sense to block now! I tried some of the story mode and was confused by how that mode progresses. I had a few matches that had nothing to do with the story being told in the cutscenes and then I played as Kasumi and Ayane in matches at random points in the timeline. However, I had a lot of fun just playing the other offline modes, like Arcade, Tag Arcade, Survival and Team Battle. The problem I have with the game are strictly with the fact that I was playing the PC version. No in game menus to change the graphical settings, graphics are based on the PS3 version with slight improvements, there are stages missing, and there’s NO ONLINE PLAY! It’s supposed to be patched in a few months from now but it’s bullshit that it’s not available at launch. It’s a fun game honestly and it addresses a lot of the issues I have with the series. It’s the most fun I’ve had with a Dead or Alive game since Dead or Alive 2 Hardcore on the PS2. Just don’t get the PC version.


Man, I have been busy this past week, huh? What have you been playing? Tell me in the comments section. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

2 thoughts on “My Gaming Landscape [April 3rd, 2015]

  1. I’m dying to play Ori. I’d like to get around to DOA5 at some point too. I just started up DKC2 for the first time. After enjoying Tropical Freeze so much, I wanted to give this one a go. I’d only played the first of the SNES games before.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve played all the DKC games and they’re great! A lot of people think the second one is the best but I think the first is. I still haven’t bought Tropical Freeze but I have tried it. It seems pretty good.

      Like

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

