Colorwind Reacts: Nintendo Direct 4-1-15

nintendo-direct-april-2015-livestream-watch-videoI’ll give Nintendo this. I usually look forward to seeing their Nintendo Directs. It’s usually only the one game centric ones I skip. That said, they are not all great. However, this was a pretty good one. There was a lot of announcements made and games shown off and especially when Bill Trinen was presenting were there just a rapid fire of games shown and announcements made. As always there were a lot of games and announcements that I don’t really care about but are fine for those who are interested. That’s to be expected. So I’ll focus on the stuff that did peak my interest.

Smash Bros DLC Characters

MewTwo, who we knew was coming, has now been confirmed for April 28th. I have a buddy who likes MewTwo so I’m glad to see him back. Lucas was also announced as a DLC character to be released in June. This is cool, as it keeps the hope of a official US release of Mother 3 alive. What was really interesting is that Nintendo is now taking suggestions for Smash Bros characters. Not only is it a great way to get characters you want in the game but it shows that Nintendo wants to support this game well into the future. It’ll probably be five years or more until the next Smash Bros game. It’s nice that we’ll get new stuff for the current one periodically in the meantime.

New Games Announced and Dated

There were a lot of games announced and talked about during the presentation but there were a few that peaked my interest. Splatoon still looks cool to me and I’m glad it’s finally coming out in May. I hope Yoshi’s Wooly World is good since there hasn’t been a great one since Yoshi’s Island on the SNES. It’s been delayed again to this fall though so we’ll hopefully find out then. The Shin Megami Tensei and Fire Emblem crossover is happening after two years of no news and some footage was shown, though not much. The Fatal Frame game that was exclusive to the Wii U in Japan is finally getting a North American release. I won’t play it but even I know we need more horror games coming out. There’s going to be a free Pokemon Rumble game called Pokemon Rumble World coming next week and I’ll definitely try it. There’s an Attack on Titan 3DS game that looks decent but there’s not much known other than it looks like they’re going for a Monster Hunter vibe. Finally, Xenoblade Chronicles will be released April 10th. Nintendo has some pretty good titles coming out on both Wii U and 3DS. However, none of this will sell consoles. All of these games are too small or too niche to appeal to no one but hardcore gamers or children who aren’t glued to their smartphones.

N64 and DS Games Coming to Wii U Virtual Console

I wrote a story on this for MONG, so go check it out. To elaborate a bit more, I always thought it was weird that a lot of the virtual console games didn’t carry over from the Wii to the Wii U, having to instead switch to Wii mode. So Nintendo fixing this problem as they go along is good. I’ve already bought Super Mario 64 and I really want to get Donkey Kong 64, Mario Kart DS, and Paper Mario when they come out later this month. So far Super Mario 64 looks great on my HDTV and the game also controls better than it does on the Wii. This might be the ultimate version of Super Mario 64. I mean, the DS game has extra content but the controls are the worst.

Mario Kart 8 DLC

The new DLC pack was moved up from May to April 23 and that’s cool but what intrigues me is the newly announced 200cc difficulty. The karts are now going to go super fast, which means it’s going to be really hard. I’m not looking forward to this because of the difficulty but because of the insanity that’s going to happen when I play the game with my friends. We’re going to be bouncing off the walls, falling off cliffs, and just flinging items like crazy, I’m sure. I’m kind of hoping for a Double Dash, Baby Park with giant bananas, and giant koopa shells situation.


That’s about everything I liked about the latest Nintendo Direct. It’s was pretty good and I’m looking forward to a lot now. One thing that really bugged me about the presentation though was the onslaught of Amiibos. I don’t care about Amiibos and I’m tired of these stupid plastic toys being shoehorned into every Nintendo game. I will admit that the wool Yoshi Amiibos look cute but not enough to buy one. So what did you think about the latest Nintendo Direct? Let me know in the comments section. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

