Discussing: GameStop Stores

Gamestop

A lot of my video game shopping nowadays is done online. As a result, I don’t go to GameStop as much as I used to. However, in the past couple of weeks, I’ve gone to three different GameStop stores in my area.

It’s been awhile since I’ve been to one – maybe over a year – and one thing I noticed is how bad the quality of the store has gone down. A majority of the games there were missing their cases and manuals, the cases had stains or noticeable wear on it, and there typically were a bunch of stickers on it. In the second GameStop, the store had a bad selection (they barely had any games on the shelves) and the games were completely unorganized and sloppy. As in the games were nearly falling off the shelves and had the front cover facing the wall, stuff like that. I ended up buying a copy of Ninja Gaiden Sigma on the PS3 at the second one and when I got home, I noticed that they gave me the Greatest Hits disc even the the case was the normal version. It really made me consider never going to a GameStop again.

However, the third one I went to on a different day was different. That one was clean and organized, the game cases were in good condition, a majority of them came with the original cases and manuals, and when I bought the games, they gave me the correct discs. The cases did have stickers on them but it wasn’t as bad, and although the selection wasn’t great, it was better than the other stores. However, despite all this, even though my experience at the third store was good, I can’t help but think that buying on eBay or Amazon is better. Usually the deals are better online except for a few games (I got Resistance: Fall of Man for a $1 for example) and they are typically in better condition. The only drawback is you have to wait for it to come in the mail.

But I want to hear from you! What has your experience been with GameStop recently? Are the stores near you well organized and clean? Do they have a good selection? Let me know in the comments. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

2 thoughts on “Discussing: GameStop Stores

  1. I had so many bad experiences with Gamestop in years past, I have long stopped shopping there. I do walk into the one at the mall sometimes. I can’t say it seems noticeably worse from a selection/cleanliness standpoint than before. My issues were always with the employees (obviously this varies from store to store) and the general company policies (like selling gutted display copies as new).

    Liked by 1 person

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

