My Gaming Landscape [March 6th, 2015]

MGL

Since my last Gaming Landscape, which hasn’t been too long ago, I’ve jumped between several games before settling on two. I was also sick with the flu for a majority of this time so I had a bit more time to play these games. How many of you do that, where you have several games that start before just settling on one or two that grab you? Anyways, here’s the two in question that have made up My Gaming Landscape for the last two and a half weeks.

Pokémon X

I am very excited and proud to announce that I have finish Pokémon X. That’s big for me because I’ve never beaten a Pokémon game. I really like the original Blue and later Leaf Green but never finished them. What’s more is I got one Pokémon to level 100 with no rare candies! My Delphox, which I named Firefox, is awesome and I love it oh so much! I kind of want to see about catching all the other Pokémon and completing the PokéDex but it seems way too time consuming so I’ve put the game down for now. Maybe I’ll do it later. Concerning the game, I think it’s a lot of fun and there’s a lot less things in your way that prevent you from having fun and doing what you want to do in the game. However, I also found it to be really easy. I literally died only once. Even the final battle was pretty easy. I never really took time to level up my Pokémon or anything either, although I didn’t really take time to catch a lot of Pokémon either, choosing to focus on really only six Pokémon and caught only about 14 or so, not including evolutions. I also maxed out most of those six in the Pokémon Amie portion of the game so I had a few buffs from that. Also, the team Flare plot in the game kind of ended early. Like there’s still a couple of hours left in the game when that plotline ends. Difficulty and story aside, I did really enjoy this game and it’s a good place to start playing Pokémon if you’ve never played one. There’s a lot of depth and things to do in the game – really all Pokémon games – and this one does a good job of easing you into it and explaining things.

Yakuza 4

After finishing Pokémon X, I was looking for something to play from my enormous backlog. I looked at my PlayStation 3 games and I had just gotten Yakuza 4 from PlayStation Plus so I thought I’d give that a shot. It starts off a little slow and I wasn’t sure about the combat system but after that, the story started to really pull me in. Before I realized it, I had sunk five hours into the game. I’ve never played a Yakuza game but I have played Shenmue 2 and it reminds me a lot of that game. Yakuza 4 is ostensibly a Shenmue game but with a more structured concept and somewhat better combat. And it’s also made by Sega! Yakuza 4 has you play as four different characters with stories that intertwine. The story is very dramatic, dealing with conspiracies with the Yakuza, police and events from 25 years ago and while some of it drags, it’s all very compelling stuff that wouldn’t be out of place in a Godfather type film. The game itself lets you explore Kamurocho and do various sidestories, fight street thugs and low level Yakuza, participate in minigames, collect locker keys, and other activities, much like any other open world game. Unfortunately, Kamurocho is fairly small and you’ll see a lot of the city more than once. The story is the main draw of this game though and it’s what kept me captivated until the end of the game, which I got to after 25 hours of gameplay. I don’t really have any complaints about the game other than some might not like the slower pace and less than polished combat system. Also, the end of the game has the now common problem of the mechanics of the game breaking at the end but I’ll get to that in another post. I really enjoyed playing Yakuza 4 and I’m not looking to get the other games in the series.


And that was my Gaming Landscape! Those were the games I had something to say about and now I want to know about the games you’ve been playing! Let me know in the comment section. Feels good not to be sick anymore so hopefully I’ll be writing more! Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

