My Gaming Landscape [February 17th, 2015]

MGL

Another Gaming Landscape! I’ve been playing a lot of games recently, so many in fact that I’ve unfortunately been neglecting some. Specifically Metroid Prime Trilogy. I really want to play that game more but I haven’t touched it in like three week. Actually since the last Gaming Landscape I did. But this isn’t about video games I haven’t been playing. It’s not even about games I want to play! Here are the games I HAVE been playing. Lets get to it!

Duke Nukem 3D: Megaton Edition

This version of the game was just released early last month for the PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita and I got it for free since it was one of the PlayStation Plus games for January. Since I’ve been playing a lot of new releases recently and a lot of new releases recently have been re-releases and remasters of older games (Resident Evil HD Remaster, Fahrenheit: Indigo Prophecy Remastered, Metroid Prime Trilogy), this seemed perfect. It’s fun but I’m also not really into it. I’m not really familiar with shooters from the 90s because I didn’t have a PC or easy access to one until the year 2000. I was poor. Therefore, I don’t know how you would figure out how to progress in this game. I had to use a walkthrough to figure out how to get through the third level of the first episode. I tried to play the fourth level without a walkthrough. Still haven’t finished it. I am having fun when I’m shooting things so I’ll give it more time but man, I cannot find keycards to save my life.

Resident Evil HD Remaster

This is the part where I eat some crow. For reasons unknown, I refuse to give up on RE HD and now, I’m starting to enjoy myself. In fact, I’ve sort of become obsessed with the Resident Evil series. I’ve been watching playthroughs of other RE games on YouTube and looking up the other games in the franchise. Meanwhile, I haven’t finished RE HD but I’m making progress and although I’m mostly still relying on walkthroughs, I am figuring some things out on my own. The thing that made me enjoy RE HD is I realized that it’s basically an adventure game. I still think a lot of the puzzles don’t make sense in regards to the game’s setting but the puzzles are great. It’s like having to play a baseball game in the middle of a Call of Duty game. It doesn’t make any sense but it’s fun. I’m taking a small break from the game right now but I know I’m going to jump back into it and also look to play other games in the franchise. It’s the puzzles that intrigue me!

Saints Row: Gat Out Of Hell

This standalone expansion to Saints Row IV is basically nothing but side quests. You complete various flying time trials, mini horde challenges and stronghold missions until the story decides to continue. The ability to fly with devil wings and the chair with mini-guns and rockets in it is cool but those aren’t that cool to hold up an expansion pack. In terms of actual story missions, there’s only like three or so. In between those story missions, you need to complete random side stuff before a cutscene plays and advances the story only for you to go back to more side stuff. I actually reached the final battle without realizing I was almost done! I did finish it and the game for that matter with almost no effort too. I haven’t played Saints Row IV but I have played the previous three and I guess it’s better than nothing if you like the series. However, this is not essential to play and not worth the money. Only if you get Saints Row IV: Re-Elected, where Gat Out Of Hell is included, is it worth it.

Guilty Gear Xrd –Sign-

I bought this game this weekend as part of the Valentine’s Day sale on the PlayStation Network, as well as all of the Street Fighter Alpha games. It was the PS3 version since I don’t have a PS4. I’ve not been big into the Guilty Gear series but I do find it fun and I’ve been trying to get into it for some time now since I am a big fan of BlazBlue. I’ve only played a couple of hours but I’m digging it so far. I like the new animations and the style of the art design. It looks really good, even on the PS3’s 720p resolution. The gameplay is really fluid and controls are really tight. The game also seems to be a bit slower, which I appreciate since I’ve always had trouble keeping track of what’s going on in Guilty Gear games since they can be really frantic. I will say that I think the roster is a bit small and the fact that two of the characters are DLC characters is pretty shitty but I’m liking the game overall.

Pokémon X

Last week, I decided that I wanted to play something other than what I currently was. I think it was Resident Evil HD. So with all the talk about the New Nintendo 3DS XL, I busted out my Old Nintendo 3DS XL and loaded up Pokémon X. I bought the game at launch but never finished it. I forgot what I had already did so I erased that save and started a new one. I have this problem with Pokémon where I try to catch every Pokémon right away and keep them all around the same level. Needless to say, it gets overwhelming and I give up on the game as a result. I decided not to do that this time and only start catching all the Pokémon after I’ve finish the game. As a result, I’ve already gotten my fifth gym badge, the furthest I’ve ever gotten in any Pokémon game. I like taking care of my Pokémon in the Amie minigame and focusing on just the few I have instead of a whole bunch of them. I think this is how you’re supposed to play this game. Anyways, this is the main game I’m playing now and the only thing preventing me from playing it right now is the stupid battery in the 3DS.


And there we have it, My Gaming Landscape for the past few weeks. Now I want to know what games you’ve been playing so let me know in the comment section. Peace and Love, gamers and players! Colorwind out.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

