Discussing: YouTube Copyright Claims

content-id-youtube-600x369I make YouTube lets play videos. They don’t get many views but I enjoy doing it. If anything, I have fun making them and playing the games I show. However, I would like this to perhaps turn into something more and as such, I monetize my videos. I haven’t seen any money from this yet, but perhaps someday, right? WRONG! At least for some videos. For awhile now, I’ve been getting hit with copyright claims from game companies, claiming ad revenue from my videos (which again amounts to zero). I’ve gotten a few for my Batman Arkham Asylum videos and my Deadpool videos, a few random ones here and there.

However, the worst culprit has been Nintendo, who has flagged almost all of my Nintendo videos, including my Yoshi’s Island playthrough, the beginning of my Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time playthrough and various other one off videos. It’s become a real problem and it’s now become worst because out of the blue, Sega has been flagging my Sonic videos. I did a playthrough of Sonic’s story in Sonic Adventure DX and all of Sonic Adventure 2, as well as an impressions and critique video on Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed. All have been flagged, aside from a few episodes from my playthrough, but I’m literally getting more copyright emails as I type this.

I’m lucky right now as none of these claims have been severe enough to give me a strike on my YouTube account. However, these claims are getting ridiculous. I get the feeling that these companies just do a general wipe through YouTube and claim videos through some kind of bot, not even realizing who or what they’re flagging. In YouTube’s defense, I’ve been able to successfully appeal a few of these claims, but ultimately it’s their fault for having such an exploitable system and doing nothing about it. Most of the copyright claims are often based on the music in the game so this just supports my theory.

I know that I’m not alone in having this trouble. So I want to hear from anyone out there who has had this problem. Does anyone have any advice on what to do? How did you deal with your claims? Let me know in the comments. In the meantime, I’m not going to be signing up for Nintendo’s stupid YouTube content creator deal or whatever it’s called so I’m just not going to be covering Nintendo games anymore. Even though it pains me so, I won’t be doing any Sega or Sonic games either. It’s ultimately okay. It’s not like there aren’t other games to play.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

