Borderlands 2nd Impressions

BorderlandscoverI have now played Borderlands for 14 hours. I’m at level 23 and I just entered New Haven. I looked up online about how far I’m into the game and apparently, I’m somewhere around half way. This worries me because the story has been essentially non-existent. I don’t want to say much because I don’t want to spoil anything and I want to go in depth in my actual review but essentially, I am looking for this secret vault and am doing favors for the locals to gain their trust / get clues on where the vault might be. There have been some messages of some people telling me to stop searching but that’s about it. The story hasn’t changed since I’ve started playing.

A lot of the characters in the game have something that makes them interesting to hear from, such as a cripple with a shotgun or a redneck mechanic, and a lot of this comes from the good voice acting. However, you don’t spend enough time with these characters to really grow to love them. Also, since most of your interactions with these characters is through voice messages, it makes the few interactions even less impactful.

The gameplay hasn’t changed at all since I last wrote about it. However, while before I found myself not like certain weapon categories like the shotgun, I have found uses for them now. I’ve realized that one of the reasons the shooting feels so good is because each category of weapon offers a different kind of satisfying feel. Snipers can kill enemies in one well placed shot, shotguns can make enemies recoil, and SMGs can whittle away life quickly if you have a strong enough gun. I’m still haven’t trouble finding a good use of assault rifles but I like how each gun type truly doesn’t have a use for certain situations.

Another reason the shooting’s great is the guns themselves. The design of the guns in my opinion aren’t as varied and cool looking as maybe they’re supposed to be. However, they are cool when you aim. The designs of the aiming reticles are more inventive and varied than most games. Aiming lets you see through the gun’s sights or through the scope and it’s really satisfying to have someone in your line of fire. You shoot, see the flashes coming from the gun and then see the numbers pop up above the enemy’s head. That’s the other thing too. Having that hit confirmation of hit points removed show up as you shoot enemies is really satisfying. It feels that OCD side of me that wants to do things exact and efficiently.

borderlands-20091001024009599

In terms of progressing, I’ve noticed that the skill points you earn each time you level up actually don’t help you that much. The real upgrades come from just the base stats being updated from leveling up as well as the new weapons you earn. I’ve been more experimental with the weapons I keep and elemental effects can really make a difference. Reload rate is also one that’s really important and I wish it was a statistic that the game listed flat out.

Unfortunately, repetition is really starting to set in. At this point, I HAVE to listen to something else to continue having fun with the game and I can’t play too much before having to stop. The missions, though rewarding, are just not varied enough. The fact that the environments all kind of look the same also doesn’t help. I’ve actually taken a couple of days off and have started playing another game (Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood) to break up the repetition. Borderlands feels like a game that you grind on and play when you need a break from the main game that you’re playing.

Those are my thoughts now of Borderlands. I haven’t had a chance to play multiplayer so that is what I want to do next. If anyone wants to play Borderlands on Steam, my username is Colorwind. Remember that I’m level 23 right now so I would like to play with someone the same level as me. However, I do want to play with someone a lower level than me and a higher level than me so I can see what the game does with that. Until next time, peace and love, gamers and players!

One thought on “Borderlands 2nd Impressions

  1. This is a game that’s always been on my periphery, but every time I started seriously looking at picking it up it always seemed to have one or two flaws that didn’t quit jive with me. I’ve never played it, but from what I’ve heard, the game’s a little slow and shallow before really picking up and getting quite good when you’re getting into the DLC. Hopefully the experience will get better as you move forwards, towards that.

    Like

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

