My Borderlands Review Experiment

I’m going to try something different. I’ve noticed that a lot of reviews of video games don’t go into enough detail as to why the game in question is fun or enjoyable. They talk about how the game excels or fails in certain aspect but not into great lengths. There’s rarely examples or personal experiences of the positive or negatives. I’ve also noticed that I have made the same mistakes in my reviews and I want to improve so I’m going to try something new. I want to be thorough with my next review, which I’ve decided will be Borderlands. So what I’m going to do is give my impressions of the game as I play through it with multiple preview pieces. This will not only (hopefully) give me feedback from the community on the game while I play it (and possibly help me with it) but also be a record of my thoughts as they possible change and form. It’ll be like my notes that can be interactive.

I’m also going to be playing the DLC and with completion aspirations so that I can see how much I can get out of the game. The reason for this is so I can not only give a normal review that’s detailed but also include sections looking at the game from a completionist perspective (or end game perspective) as well as from a consumer perspective. So essentially my review will tell you if the main game is fun, if it’s worth your time to do everything in the game, and how much it’s worth paying for. I’m going with Borderlands because I’ve always wanted to beat it but never have and this long game would benefit greatly from this kind of extensive coverage. I’ll be playing the PC version as I don’t have any of the DLC from the 360. So I’ll be posting a first first impressions pretty soon.

Now I want to hear from you. Let me know in the comments what you think of this idea. A great deal of this experiment would benefit greatly from feedback. Thanks for reading. Peace and love, gamers and players.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

