Discussing: Keeping Old or New Versions of Games

video-game-collectionI don’t consider myself a collector. I like video games but not to the extent that I want every game of a platform whether I like them or not. What’s more is I don’t buy sealed copies of a game that would go on a shelf, never to be played. When I get a game, I plan on actually playing it, not making it a display piece. If I don’t like a game, I get rid of it. Because of this, I’ve been rethinking how I get games. Normally, I would keep any game that I liked but I’ve noticed there’s some games that despite liking I’m not going to play again. There’s two types that come to mind.

The first kind are upgrades. I have Street Fighter IV for the Xbox 360 but I also have Super Street Fighter IV: Arcade Edition now. Despite the original having an ending gallery, something Arcade Edition doesn’t have, I never play the original anymore. I’ve come to the conclusion that I should get rid of the original game since I have the upgraded game. Same goes for Virtua Fighter 5 and Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown, despite the lack of the Quest mode in Final Showdown. I’ve gotten rid of the original Street Fighter IV and Virtua Fighter 5 but this got me thinking.

By this logic, I wouldn’t need ports of games I have on newer consoles. This is the second kind of game. For example, I have Super Mario World on my Wii U. Therefore, when I get a SNES (I want one but haven’t had one for awhile), I shouldn’t get it on there, despite it being the original. I have Ratchet & Clank 1 & 2 on both the PS2 and the PS3. I should get rid of my PS2 copies because the PS3 versions are the same games except in HD.

I think there’s some exceptions to this rule. I have both the Sega Saturn and Sega Genesis version of Sonic 3D Blast and although they are almost the same game, the method of getting Chaos Emeralds is somewhat but noticeably different. You can get two emeralds a stage in the Genesis version and only one in the Saturn. The special stages where you get the emerald are different in each versions. In this respect, I think the two games are different enough to justify owning both.

One aspect I’m trying to make a decision on is the same game on multiple consoles. One example is Borderlands 2. I have it on PS3 digitally and 360 on disc. I’m wondering if I should sell the 360 version and just play the PS3 version. I’m probably not going to play the game on both consoles. Should I get rid of one or keep them both? Should I take which version is better graphically and technically into consideration? I’ve played the 360 version already and have a character in the low level 10s where I haven’t touched the PS3 version. Should I consider that?

These are questions I’m not sure about and would like some input on. What are your thoughts on collecting games? Should I just have one copy of a game? What are the benefits of owning more than one copy on different platforms? What’s the benefit of playing Super Mario World on the SNES as oppose to the Wii U? What about something like Nights into Dreams on XBLA and PSN, where it’s an HD remake and has the original Saturn version? Leave me a comment and let me know what you think. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players!

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

