Don’t Edit and Write at the Same Time!

I’m working on a review and I caught myself doing something I have a bad habit of doing and I thought I would write a little about it. If you plan to do any kind of writing, especially if it’s going to be a long piece, you should avoid editing what you’re writing as you’re writing it. Doing multiple drafts is a good thing, especially since your first draft should be all your thoughts splattered on the page, completely unorganized and unformatted. When you start writing something, the main goal should be to get all of your thoughts onto the page. Making sense of it and adding and subtracting stuff should be later. That’s what editing is for!

I’ve notice that a lot of people have trouble just getting started. That first paragraph, sentence or even word just stumps them. This happens with me too so sometimes, I just don’t start at the beginning. It’s especially easy if you’re typing. Whatever comes to mind first on your topic is what you should write first. As you write, you’ll probably come up with a way to start the piece off based on what you’re saying and how you’re saying. Same goes with the concluding paragraph. When you’re writing, you should not worry about the sequential order of your piece. That’s what editing is for. I will admit that this will make things take longer, and you might have to do multiple drafts, depending on what you decide to add or subtract, but you’ll have a better piece in the end.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

