I Love Sonic Music! Part 2!!

topPeace and love, gamers and players. Colorwind here, and seeing how well my last Sonic music post went, I decided to post some more Sonic music that I like. Once again, these aren’t my favorite or anything. I just picked five tracks that I like and put them in no particular order.

Sonic the Hedgehog 3: Ice Cap Zone–Act 1

Invigorating and with a kicking beat, the music for the first act of the Ice Cap zone really knows how to get your blood flowing, which is good since you’re in a freezing cold level. Snow levels in Sonic games tend to have really good music and this track is a good example of that. With the occasional “hey” being shouted and the beautiful melody in the bridge section, this is easily one of the best Sonic tracks in any game!

Sonic the Hedgehog 2: Mystic Cave Zone

Another invigorating track, Mystic Cave manages to not only be a good track to thump to but also manages to have a creepy sound to it, not unlike the song to the second act of Lava Reef Zone in Sonic & Knuckles. I would describe this song as being a dance song for Dracula’s house party. I can imagine the worst from Transylvania getting down with this great track.

Sonic & Knuckles: Flying Battery Zone–Act 1

Probably one of the better known tracks from a Sonic game, Flying Battery Zone evokes the high speed nature of the level, which has you racing across the innards of an airship, dodging and weaving various mechanical gears, traps and hazards. This stage always reminds me of the Metropolis Zone from Sonic the Hedgehog 2 but on crack and the music fits this theme appropriately. A Rock-like melody and high intensity tempo makes this the perfect song for a Sonic game.

Sonic R: Livin’ in the City

Sonic is no stranger to some cheestastic tracks and the Sega Saturn racing game Sonic R is chockfull of them. Mid 90s games that were on CDs seemed to love making jazz-influenced house music and there are a couple of Sonic games with songs in this genre. This track in particular has some great vocals and corny as hell lyrics and even though I know a lot of people won’t like this song because of how banal it is, I love it!

Sonic Adventure: Lazy Days

Not a lot of people like Big the Cat. While I wouldn’t say I’m a fan of the character, he doesn’t bother me. If anything, I find him to just be kind of funny. Not so much him as just his existence. However, if there’s something about him I do like, it’s his theme music! This awesome blues-rock track with dual vocals is perfect for the massive simpleton cat. The two vocals are meant to be Big the Cat and Froggy talking to each other and it works really well! Give it a listen and tell me that it’s not a great song and easily the best thing about the character!

Well, there’s another five songs from the Sonic franchise. Leave me a comment below and let me know what you think about these songs. If I decided to do this again, I think I might either do another random five songs, a post solely on Sonic CD tracks or songs only from Sonic games from 2003 onward since I’ve completely ignored those games up to this point. Thanks for listening, Colorwind out!

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

