My Gaming Landscape [May 27, 2014]

MGL

Peace. And. Love, Gamers and Players! It’s time for another Gaming Landscape from yours truly, Colorwind. It’s a day late due to Memorial Day. Hope everyone had a good one if you’re from the United States, and if not, then hope you had a good day, and week for that matter, regardless. This past week, I played a whopping fourteen games! Way too many! However, I love games so even 14 isn’t enough! Anyways, enough introducing and lets get into it.

Chrono Cross

Chrono Cross is my favorite RPG ever. Beats them all. I recently bought it a while back and left it untouched on my PS3’s hard drive. Well, I decided that I wanted to go to a happy place in gaming for me so I loaded it up. I’m currently at the place where Kid gets sick and I’m loving it. Like I did before, I love the atmosphere, I love the art direction, I love the soundtrack, I love the story and I love the mechanics. The stamina system in this game is one I wouldn’t mind seeing in another game. I must admit that I forgot that you can only use an element once in a battle unless it’s a consumable element and that is kind of annoying. However, nothing has bug me too much so far. I’m playing the game without a guide for the first time too so I know I’m not going to get everything, I know for a fact I’ve missed some stuff already but that’s what multiple playthroughs are for since there are 11 endings in this game, I believe.

Transistor and Wolfenstein: The New Order

I heard a lot about these two games so I decided to visit my good friend skidrow and try these games out. I’ve already uninstalled them. Now, don’t get me wrong, I didn’t think these games were bad but they were not grabbing me at all. I tried Transistor first and I thought the game was pretty but it didn’t blow me away aesthetically. I didn’t like the controls first but I switched from mouse and keyboard to controller and liked them better. However, the combat isn’t really grabbing me and there’s nothing about the mechanics that I particularly enjoy a lot. Wolfenstein: The New Order is obviously a very different game but it felt like every other shooter out there except a bit more fun since I can wield two automatic shotguns at the same time. I like that BJ feels like a real person now but the gameplay and story weren’t grabbing me. I think I might pick them up eventually and play them more but for now, I can wait.

Super Street Fighter IV: Arcade Edition

My love affair with fighting games continues as I hone my skills with Ryu as well as Juri and Evil Ryu. I also gave Guile a shot but I cannot get the timing with him. I can’t even do a basic jump kick – crouching kick – Flash Kick. My buddy Don aka Terrascene came over and we played several games (which I’ll get to later) but one of them was SSF4: AE. We had some intense matches with his Dudley and my Ryu. It was real fun, especially as we admitted to each other that we were learning how the other thought and each other’s attack strategies. Loving the game and I’m hyped for Ultra.

Those were the only major titles I stuck with this week so here’s a rundown of the other games I spent a little bit of time with.

Pokémon: Blue Version – Played a little bit of this game on my Game Boy emulator on my phone but not too much. I caught a Diglett and that’s about it. Been mostly doing a bit of grinding and that’s all.

Tekken 6 – I have Tekken 6 and I wanted to play a new Tekken game on my PS3 so I popped this in. I can’t beat Azazel, the final boss, and I’m not even mad because he is so clearly overpowered, I know I’m not supposed to win.

Street Fighter III: Third Strike Online – Downloaded the demo because I’ve been pining for this game and then bought it yesterday when I got the money. Played a few rounds but that’s about it…for now.

Guilty Gear XX Accent Core Plus – Bought it the same time I got Street Fighter III. I can’t beat arcade mode on medium and aside from I-No being crazy hard, I’m just not very good at this game. I need practice.

Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 – One of the games I played with my buddy Terrascene. Still don’t like this game and we stopped playing when I basically just threw my hands up and said “I don’t care about this game.”

Marvel vs. Capcom 2 – Another game I played with Terrascene. We switched to this after UMvC3 and had a better time. I still mostly lost in this one as I’m rusty from when I played it on the Dreamcast but it started to come back to me. Also, I had fun.

Might and Magic: Clash of Heroes – The last game I played with Terrascene. We played a couple of matches and it’s definitely a different game from the fighters we were playing.

I also watched Terrascene play Final Fantasy XIII for me as I’m in the part of the game in the field and I’m bored.

Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles HD – I tried this game out again to see if I can get the controller controls to feel better or if a PlayStation Move controller was required. I guess it isn’t too bad. Better than spending $50 on a wannabe Wiimote.

Finally, we have my playthroughs of Final Fantasy IV and Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare as well as the upload of the Final Fight 2 stream I did with Terrascene the weekend before.

Final Fight 2 #1

Final Fight 2 #2

Final Fight 2 #3

Final Fantasy IV #22

Final Fantasy IV #23

Final Fantasy IV #24

Call of Duty 4 #10

Call of Duty 4 #11

And that, as they say, is that. Now I want to hear from you! What did you play this past week? Leave a comment below and let me know!

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

