Colorwind Reviews 19 and 21 by Adele

I listened to Adele’s two albums yesterday and I really enjoyed them. Her first album is this soulful effort that doesn’t sound too much like anyone else today. I’ve heard comparisons to Amy Winehouse but I haven’t heard her album so I don’t know if that’s a justified contrast but the only one she remotely sounds like is Alicia Keys in that they both like to have old soul sounds and timbre in their music. That’s the only thing they have in common though. Adele truly sounds like someone who isn’t from this generation and it’s refreshing.

Her second album, I like to describe this way. Adele built a house with her first album. For her second album, someone handed her a hammer to help her built something new. She didn’t like that and threw the hammer back at the person’s head. Now she is defending this house. What I’m getting at is her second album sounds like the same idea as the first. However, now she has a new attitude towards it. What we get is a soulful album vocally but with a more pop approach. I don’t mean like Lady Gaga electro pop but vocal pop ala Annie Lennox.

I recommend both albums for those who love music, love soul music, love vocalists or who just want to hear something different that’s not rock oriented and isn’t musically eccentric. Adele isn’t different in that she’s eclectic. She’s different in that she is doing music people forgot about. I would also like to add that she writes or co-writes all the songs and as such they are all very personal. So if you like music with a personal attachment to them, I recommend these albums as well.

Adele: 19

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Key Songs: Chasing Pavements, Cold Shoulder, My Same

 

Adele: 21

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Key Songs: Rolling in the Deep, Rumor Has It, I’ll Be Waiting

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

